Early childhood blog

ensuring success in children age 0-5 in hardin and marshall county, iowa

It’s Just GREAT Practice Anyways

Guest Column by: Carrie Kube
Director for the Iowa River Valley Early Childhood Area Board

In this time of uncertain and uncharted territory with coronavirus pandemic, I am at loss for words to help families thrive. In all the craziness, I realized that we are called to do is “just GREAT practice anyways”.

Recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The coronavirus or COVID-19 exhibits the following symptoms 2-14 days after exposure: fever, cough, shortness of breath, persistent pain or pressure in the chest, new confusion or inability to arouse, or blush lips or face. The avoid COVID-19, the best defense is to avoid exposure.

To best protect you and your family against COVID-19, practice the following: wash your hands often with soap and water, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol, cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry, avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands, avoid close contact with people who are sick, stay home if you are sick, except to get medical care, cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze or use the inside of your elbow, clean AND disinfect frequently touched surfaces daily. Clean surfaces such as tables, doorknobs, light switches, countertops, handles, desks, phones, keyboards, toilets, faucets, and sinks. Remember, even if we weren’t in a pandemic, it’s just great practice anyways.

It’s not so bad
I am fortunate to already be working from home and my children are home for weeks. The silver lining is that I now have more time with my children, that I wouldn’t have had before. If you have to opportunity to be home with your children, embrace this time as an opportunity to connect and do activities together. Have pajama parties and pillow fights, build forts out of cardboard boxes, read together, have a scavenger hunt, visit online aquariums with live feeds, and more. Remember, even if we weren’t in a pandemic, it’s just great practice anyways.

Help others
It is so important to take time to help others...the best we can. Remember to call grandparents or elderly neighbors to make sure they are okay. Children can make and mail cheer cards for nursing home residents. Buy gift cards or certificates from local restaurants to use at a later time. If you venture out to grocery and merchandise stores, ask your neighbors, if they need anything and leave it on their doorstep. Consider donating to local food banks and animal shelters. Lastly, remember your non-profit organizations and public health departments who are feverishly working to protect their clientele, so monetary donations are welcomed. Remember, even if we weren’t in a pandemic, it’s just great practice anyways.

For more detailed recommendations on the coronavirus, please visit: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prepare/index.html

We will also be sharing a variety of resources on our Facebook page @irveca.

Remember - we should at all times - protect our health and others, build family relationships, and help others. It’s just great practice anyways.


Carrie Kube
Iowa River Valley Early Childhood Area Director

Disclosure: Carrie Kube is a Director for the Iowa River Valley Early Childhood Area Board.  All thoughts and opinions expressed are that of the author and not the Board and/or its community partners.